Phone Addiction

Modern technology. I love it—my phone in particular. I will not deny that I have a bit of a phone addiction; ok, I have a major phone addiction. But I’m trying to quit, just deleted my Facebook App from my phone. Should cut done phone usage by half. J So what does this have to do with the theme of this blog, in being connected to a place? Well here’s a question to consider. How does your perception of a place change when you have your phone, etc. on you?

I’ve often been in restaurants and have noticed couples sitting across from one another waiting for their dinner. Rather than talking both are engrossed with their phones or tablets. Another example is with parents. Their child is across from them and the entire time they are focused on their phones. Now again, I love my phone, so don’t think that I’m against using modern technology.  I’m just wondering if we’ve considered the ways that modern technology is affecting our interaction with the environment and each other. Or more importantly, do we even care if phones, ect. are changing the way we interact as a society?

When our connection as individuals is altered by modern technology do our interactions become enhanced or diminished? It depends how it’s used. While the use of cell phones, tablets, ect. might interfere with dinnertime or conversations, these same resources have been responsible for national revolutions. People across the country can communicate via Skype. Social media has caused individuals to reconnect. I even have a few friends that I would say are closer to me via social media and text that live across country, than those that live five minutes from me. So is it really modern technology that hinders our human interactions, or is it the way we interact with the technology that hinders us? Ok so maybe I’m going overboard here, but hey it’s something to ponder.

But there are those that are fighting the distractions of modern society. Phone stacking in restaurants is becoming popular. The idea is to have everyone stack their cell phones on top of one another and whoever answers the phone first has to pay the bill. This idea proves that people are becoming aware of the influence that modern technology causes with human interaction.

What about with nature? I know for me I find myself hiking and seeking nature, and yet I pull my cell phone out and check for a text or my email. This is sad, because I purposely want to be in nature in order to escape from the pressures of my life and modern society, even for a few minutes. Phone usage has become an addiction for some people, and it’s time we set up boundaries. Would our modern society even be able to survive if our apps were taken away from us?

Consider this final thought: Societies in the past have had less technological advancement and comforts, ways of entertainment, or even down time. And yet those societies as a whole had less stress and a greater sense of enjoyment in everyday life than we do today. Maybe we need to stop and consider what we as a society have lost.

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Phone Addiction

  1. Andrea Smallwood says:

    This is a great read, as well as a very true point. I’ve never realized how much we are engrossed in technology we all truly are. Meaning, I don’t believe I’ve gone at least a day without checking either my facebook page or my email. I believe your “final thought” is making and proving your point in this blog, life may be easier if we all weren’t trying to be so “connected” to each other. Maybe true peace would be found if we would actually take the time to actually live without the added pluses we live with today. Very good point you’re making in this blog, great job Amanda.

    • anstrusie says:

      Andrea,
      Glad my musings are giving you some ideas. It’s so amazing how in trying to get connected via modern technology that we have become so disconnected to one another and our environment. There’s nothing wrong with technology, this issue arises when we as a society lose that which holds us together.
      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

